Q (Orthodox Language)

Q (/'θilənis/ THEE-lə-nees), translated as ‘Orthodox’, is by far the most commonly spoken language in Iær. Being the official language of the Sanctum Lunar Orison religion, and with the religion being overwhelmingly predominant (including about 95% of the population), Orthodox has spread to even the most remote areas of the world.

Orthodox Alphabet
The alphabet consists of fourteen glyphs and four modifying diacritics. Twelve of the glyphs represent individual consonants (f h k l m n p r s ʃ t θ); one of the diacritics, the dot below, can be used with five of these to add voice (f k p s tv g b z d). The final two glyphs represent the vowel 'e' (/ɛ/, /i/), and the 'null character'. As the remaining three above-placed diacritics represent vowel sounds between the consonants, and two diacritics above a glyph are not permitted, the 'null character' is used as a placeholder glyph to allow for a diacritic (for example, when there are consecutive vowels).

Character Phoneme
P p
B b
F f
V v
T t
D d
S s
Z z
K k
G g
X x
Q q
L l
R r
N n
M m
H h
E e
/ɛ/, /i/
J j
A  a
/æ/, /ɑː/
I  i
/iː/, /ɪ/
O  o
/ɔ/, /oʊ/

Example Sentence
 “Death visits with impartiality the castles of the rich and the cottages of the poor.”
 〈S g se ke se s xd k s mel pler t s g k s mel her:〉
 /'sɑːrgəs sɛ 'kɑːməvɛ sə'mɑːlioʊ sə 'ʃændin kə sə 'mɛlin 'plɛri ti sə 'gisin kə sə 'mɛlin hə'rɑːni/
 "S argas se kamave samalio s shandin k s melin pleri ti s gisin k s melin herani."
Copyright ©2021 Adam Alexander T. Croke. All rights reserved.